I Remember

I remember

the sweat of my skin,

the buzzing in my ears,

the swelling of my feet

the strained smile I give strange men

in return for them asking me to dance

but I am pulled between their knees

as tired feet watch from the sidelines;

no eyes meet mine

and he knows some great moves.

almost professional.

I remember

knowing rhythm 

before knowing sexy

music flowed through me like blood

I became a woman;

I am shy now when I dance

and I smile like a child…

Leave a Reply

