I like you when you are silent, for it’s as though you were absent…(Poema XV, Pablo Neruda)

I translated a famous Pablo Neruda poem from Spanish to English. Not so original, but whatever, I love this poem, and I translated it, I’ve never read an English version so after posting I’ll go see how it’s really translated in English 😛

Traduci este poema famoso de Pablo Neruda. No es muy original, pero bueno, me encanta este poema, y lo traduci, nunca he leido una version en ingles…asi que despues de publicarlo ire a ver como de verdad se lo traduce. 😉

Poema XV

I like you when you are silent, for it’s as though you’re absent.

and you hear me from afar, and my voice doesn’t touch you.

It seems as though your eyes had flown

and it seems as though a kiss sealed your mouth.

Since all things are filled with my soul,

you emerge from the things, full of my soul.

Butterfly of dreams, you seem like my soul,

you seem like the word “melancholy”.

I like you when you’re quiet, for it’s as though you are distant.

and it’s as though you were moaning, butterfly in murmurs.

And you hear me from afar, and my voice doesn’t reach me:

let me keep quiet in your silence.

Let me speak to you also in your silence

clear like a lamp, simple like a ring.

You are like the night, quiet and starry.

Your silence is that of a star, so distant and natural.

I like you when you’re quiet, for it’s as though you’re absent.

Far off and painful as though you had died.

Once word then, one smile are enough

And I am happy, happy that it is not true.

Leave a Reply

