Matches to Ash

my first words from this chamber of my heart,

from these depths of my belly and consciousness–

the first glimpses of my silhouette in an honest mirror,

the first taste of oxygen after life under rushed waves.

once her lips were so close–

now only echoes on my skin.

my chest swollen as my heart tries to leap

through my ribs when she leaves,

my bones know tonight’s solitude–

a manifestation we can’t return to;

matches that burn like dominoes

long enough to enlighten,

then dying quickly in succession,

with fading steps she progresses into the horizon,

pure ash in my pocket

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

